Lunar Alchemy: Negredo, Albedo, Citrinitas, and Rubedo

by theqliphothicarchives

Typified by my recent posts to this new magickal journal, I’ve been meditating on the various connotations of eggs in occulture as of late, and have realized that it is to be the focal point of an alchemical process. This afternoon I found myself placing a blown egg on an altar and painting it yellow, symbolizing the Sun, Tiphareth. Yesterday I didn’t quite know how this would correlate with my life, but after freshening up on my basic alchemy earlier to-day, I have decided that beginning this week, I’m going to perform a perennial ritual to bring an egg through the phases of nigredo, albedo, citrinitas, and rubedo. (This will be my first magickal ritual since my recent ‘leave of absence’).

The first night (Friday) is the preparation of the prime matter, i.e., blowing the egg, which will take place on the full Moon. You can probably see where I am going with this. On the physical level, the eggs will be painted the respective colours (black, white, yellow and then red). Actually, the black colour, corresponding with the nigredo phase, will be obtained by subjecting the egg to a flame. The ritual will place significance on the five sequential phases: the four alchemical phases, subsequently followed by the phase of the Peacock’s Tail, the symbol of the many colours and totality of all the colours in the white light. Note also the connection between the five phases, the five points of the pentagram, and the Masonic square and compass.

